
Last verified: August 2026. Kentucky’s rules are set county by county — confirm with your own county health department before paying anyone.
State requirement: No statewide requirement
Law: No state law · Authority: Kentucky CHFS · Verified: August 2026
No statewide card, but many county health departments require one. Find your county below.
Kentucky has no statewide food handler card. The requirement is set by local health departments, so whether you need one — and whose course counts — depends entirely on the county you work in. That last part is where most people lose money: the card you buy from a national website is usually not the card your county accepts.
Quick answer
- Statewide: no food handler card. Kentucky’s food code (902 KAR 45:005, adopting the 2013 FDA Food Code, current version effective 21 February 2019) does not require one.
- Locally: many county health departments do require one. Eight counties and the ten-county Lake Cumberland District are confirmed below from the departments’ own pages — Fayette, Madison, Montgomery, Franklin, Bullitt, Jessamine, Woodford, Pike, and the Lake Cumberland District (Pulaski, Cumberland and eight more).
- Cost: $15 to about $25 where a fee is published. Fayette charges $23.
- Validity: usually three years. Franklin is the exception at two.
- The catch: a card is generally valid only in the county that issued it, and most counties accept only the course they name. A Fayette card is not a Franklin card, and a national online certificate is not a Fayette card.
- Timing varies a lot: from “at the commencement of employment” in Fayette to two weeks in Jessamine and 30 days in Franklin and Woodford.
- Louisville is different: Jefferson County requires a certified food service manager on the premises, not a card for every worker.
What it’s called: Kentucky counties use different names for the same credential. Fayette and the Lake Cumberland District say food handler card or certified food employee, while health departments, employers and course sellers also say food handlers permit, food handler certificate, food handler certification or food handlers license. Kentucky has no statewide name because it has no statewide card — the name that matters is your county’s.
Which Kentucky counties require a food handler card
Kentucky publishes no statewide list of which health departments require a card. The Cabinet for Health and Family Services says only that local health departments carry out the retail food program in each county — there is no central register to check. So the table below contains only what could be confirmed from each department’s own published page, with the source linked. If your county is not listed, that means it was not verified, not that it has no rule: call your health department.
| County | Fee | Valid | How you take it | Deadline after hire |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fayette (Lexington) | $23 | 3 years | The health department’s own test, online or in person | At the commencement of employment |
| Madison (Richmond, Berea) | $15 | 3 years | In person only — Richmond or Berea office | Not stated |
| Montgomery (Mount Sterling) | $15 | 3 years | Health department in person, or KY TRAIN online | Not stated |
| Franklin (Frankfort) | $15 | 2 years | Online, in person, another Kentucky county’s course, or ServSafe | 30 days (60 for new establishments) |
| Bullitt (Shepherdsville) | Ask the department | 3 years | The department’s designated online course | Not stated |
| Jessamine (Nicholasville) | About $25 | Not published | A one-hour online course | 2 weeks |
| Woodford (Versailles) | Ask the department | Not published | KY TRAIN online, then collect the card in person | 30 days |
| Pike (Pikeville) | Ask the department | Not published | Classes at the health department, or online | Not stated |
| Lake Cumberland District (Pulaski/Somerset, Cumberland and 8 more counties) | $25 | Not published | Online, through the district’s own portal | Not stated |
Where a fee or a validity period says “not published,” the department’s page genuinely does not state it. Woodford’s page says outright: “There is a fee for food handler certification. Call for current information.” We have left those blank rather than filling them in from a vendor site, because vendor figures for Kentucky are frequently wrong.
The Lake Cumberland District: one rule for ten counties
Pulaski (Somerset), Cumberland (Burkesville), Adair, Casey, Clinton, Green, McCreary, Russell, Taylor and Wayne counties are served by one district health department, and it sets one rule for all ten. In the department’s words: “The Lake Cumberland District requires all food handlers to become certified food employees.” The Food Employee Certification costs $25 and is taken online through the district’s own portal (ky-lcdhd.statecert.com), where each person registers under their own name. A Food Manager Certification is $80 through the same portal, and every establishment must have a certified food protection manager and a person in charge present during all hours of operation. The district’s page does not state a validity period, a deadline after hire, or whether certificates from other providers are accepted, so confirm those with your county office before relying on them.
Two counties worth naming separately
- Clark County (Winchester) — the health department’s published pages show a Food Manager Certification ($25, three years) and no worker card requirement. If you have been told you need a Clark County food handler card, ask the department directly, because its own site does not say so.
- Perry County (Hazard) — served by the Kentucky River District Health Department, whose website could not be reached at all. We are not going to guess. Call the district before buying anything.
Fayette County (Lexington): the short version
Fayette has the fullest requirement in the state. Every person engaged in food handling must pass the Lexington-Fayette County Health Department’s own test ($23, online at any time) at the commencement of employment and every three years, with the card kept on file at the establishment. Only LFCHD-issued cards are valid; a national online certificate is not. Certified food managers are exempt from the handler card, but every establishment must have a certified food manager on duty during all hours of operation ($85 from LFCHD, or an approved accredited agency), with an annual registry fee.
The regulation’s wording, the manager-registry rule and the common questions are in our Fayette County food handler card guide.
Louisville and Jefferson County — a manager rule, not a card
Kentucky’s largest food-service market does not require a food handler card, and pages that say it does — including an earlier version of this one — are wrong.
What Louisville Metro requires is a certified food service manager. LMCO § 118.02: “No food service establishment shall do business in the county unless such establishment has in its employ at least one food service manager who holds a valid current certificate issued by the Board,” and “No food service establishment shall be open for business unless such establishment has on the premises a food service manager who holds a valid current certificate.”
There is a section of the Louisville code headed “Requirements for food handlers” — § 118.06 — and it is worth knowing what is actually in it, because the title misleads. It covers handwashing and minimising bare-hand contact with ready-to-eat food. It is a hygiene rule, not a credential. No card, no permit, no certificate.
Louisville’s manager certification runs about $35 through the provider the department designates, is valid three years, and needs 70% to pass. An existing accredited certification from elsewhere can be transferred for a fee rather than retaken.
The county-only catch
This is the most important practical point in Kentucky: a card is generally valid only in the county that issued it. A Fayette County card does not automatically cover you in Madison or Montgomery, and vice versa. Change jobs across a county line and you may need to start again.
There is one confirmed exception worth knowing about. Franklin County accepts other Kentucky county health department food handler courses, as well as ServSafe. It is the only one of the nine verified entries that does. Everywhere else, assume your card stops at the county line and check before you move.
Whose course counts — the mistake that costs money
The usual warning about Kentucky is that some counties refuse online courses. That is not really the problem any more: eight of the nine verified entries offer an online route. Fayette runs its test through its own website, Montgomery and Woodford use KY TRAIN, Bullitt and Jessamine point to specific designated courses, and Franklin accepts several options. Only Madison is in-person only, at its Richmond and Berea offices.
The real question is not online versus in person. It is whose course counts:
- Fayette accepts its own test and nothing else.
- Bullitt and Jessamine name one specific course each and expect that one.
- Woodford wants a KY TRAIN course, then a visit to the health department to collect the physical card.
- Franklin is the liberal outlier, accepting ServSafe and other Kentucky counties’ courses.
So the rule of thumb is simple, and it is the opposite of what the search ads suggest: buy the course your county names, and only that one. There is no statewide approval in Kentucky for a provider to claim — no such approval exists to give. A certificate advertised as a “Kentucky food handler card” for a few dollars is not accepted in Fayette County, which is where most of the demand for that phrase comes from.
What Kentucky requires statewide — and what it doesn’t
The state food code is 902 KAR 45:005, which adopts the 2013 FDA Food Code by reference; the current version took effect 21 February 2019. It sets no food handler card.
It does not set a statewide manager mandate either, which is a point most guides get wrong in the other direction. Kentucky’s one substantive amendment on this subject is to Food Code 2-102.11(B): the person in charge may demonstrate the required knowledge by “being a certified food protection manager who has shown proficiency of required information through passing a test that is part of an accredited program or a local health department class.” That is one of the model code’s options for demonstrating knowledge, not a requirement that every establishment employ a certified manager. Louisville and Fayette impose that themselves — the state does not.
Why the counties differ so much
Kentucky runs its retail food programme through local health departments — KRS 217.155 lets the cabinet carry out the state’s food provisions “through local health departments” — and Kentucky’s local boards of health hold their own regulation-making power. Fayette’s regulation cites KRS 212.627 (the urban-county board of health) and KRS 217.155 on its face.
That structure is why Kentucky looks the way it does. It is also the exact opposite of a state like North Carolina, where the statute expressly forbids local boards of health from making their own food establishment rules. In Kentucky the county is the authority, so the county is the only answer that matters.
How to get your Kentucky food handler card
- Find your county’s health department page and check whether a card is required at all. Do not rely on a national site’s county page — several are wrong, including about Louisville.
- Use the course the department names. If it names one, that is the only one that counts. If it names none, ring and ask before paying.
- Check the clock. Fayette expects the exam at the commencement of employment; Jessamine allows two weeks; Franklin and Woodford allow 30 days.
- Give the card to your employer. In Fayette it has to be on file at the establishment; in Bullitt a printed certificate has to be kept on site.
- Re-check if you change counties. Your card almost certainly does not travel, Franklin aside.
Food handler card by Kentucky city and county
Kentucky’s food handler requirements are set at the local health department level, and they vary more than in most states. Here is where the major population centers stand:
Louisville (Jefferson County)
Louisville Metro Public Health and Wellness oversees food establishments in Jefferson County. Louisville is the state’s largest food service market. Check directly with Louisville Metro for current food handler card requirements, as the metro government operates independently of the state framework.
Lexington (Fayette County)
The Lexington-Fayette County Health Department oversees food service in Lexington. Fayette County has historically been among the more active Kentucky jurisdictions on food worker requirements — verify current rules with the county health department before starting work.
Northern Kentucky — Covington, Newport, Florence (Boone, Kenton, Campbell counties)
The Northern Kentucky Health Department covers Boone, Kenton, Campbell, and Grant counties. This region sits directly across the Ohio River from Cincinnati — an Ohio credential does not transfer to Kentucky, and workers who commute across the river should confirm requirements on both sides.
Bowling Green (Warren County)
The Barren River District Health Department serves Warren County and surrounding areas. Western Kentucky University drives significant seasonal food service hiring in Bowling Green.
Owensboro (Daviess County)
The Green River District Health Department oversees food establishments in Daviess County and six surrounding counties.
Paducah (McCracken County) and Henderson (Henderson County)
Both fall under regional district health departments. Western Kentucky’s proximity to Illinois, Missouri, and Tennessee means cross-border workers should verify requirements for each state separately.
Elizabethtown (Hardin County) and Richmond (Madison County)
Both are served by district health departments operating under the Kentucky Department for Public Health framework. Confirm local requirements with the relevant district office.
If your local health department or employer asks
Kentucky sets requirements at the local health department level, so what applies depends on your county. Where no local card is required, employers commonly ask for training instead — an ANSI-accredited online food handler course costs $7–$15. Confirm with your county health department before assuming an online card satisfies a local rule.
Kentucky at a glance
| Statewide worker card? | No — 902 KAR 45:005 sets none |
| Statewide manager mandate? | No — certification is one way for the person in charge to demonstrate knowledge, not a requirement |
| Who sets the rule | County and district health departments, under KRS 217.155 and local board of health authority |
| Counties confirmed to require a card | 8 — Fayette, Madison, Montgomery, Franklin, Bullitt, Jessamine, Woodford, Pike. No statewide list exists |
| Typical cost | $15–25 where published; Fayette $23 |
| Typical validity | 3 years; Franklin 2 years |
| Does a card travel between counties? | Generally no. Franklin is the confirmed exception |
| Fayette (Lexington) | $23, 3 years, LFCHD’s own online test only, at commencement of employment, card on file at the establishment |
| Jefferson (Louisville) | No worker card. Certified food service manager on the premises whenever open (LMCO § 118.02) |
| State food code | 902 KAR 45:005, adopting the 2013 FDA Food Code; current version effective 21 Feb 2019 |
Common questions
Do I need a food handlers card in Pulaski County or Somerset?
Yes. Pulaski County is part of the Lake Cumberland District, which requires all food handlers to become certified food employees. The certification costs $25 and is taken online through the district’s portal. The same rule covers Cumberland, Adair, Casey, Clinton, Green, McCreary, Russell, Taylor and Wayne counties.
Do you need a food handlers card in Kentucky?
It depends on your county. There is no statewide card, but at least eight county health departments require one — including Fayette, where most of the demand is. Check your county before assuming either way.
How much is a food handlers card in Kentucky?
$15 in Madison, Montgomery and Franklin; $23 in Fayette; about $25 in Jessamine. Bullitt, Woodford and Pike do not publish a fee — call them. There is no state fee, because there is no state card.
Do I need a food handlers permit in Lexington?
Yes. Everyone in Fayette County whose work brings them into contact with food needs a food handler card from the Lexington-Fayette County Health Department — $23, valid three years, taken online through the department’s website, required at the commencement of employment, and kept on file at the establishment. No other provider’s certificate is accepted.
Do I need a food handlers card in Louisville?
No. Jefferson County requires a certified food service manager on the premises whenever the establishment is open, not a card for each worker. If a site is selling you a “Louisville food handler card,” it is selling you something the ordinance does not ask for.
Will my card work in another Kentucky county?
Usually not. Cards are issued by, and valid in, the county that issued them. Franklin County is the confirmed exception — it accepts other Kentucky county health department courses and ServSafe. Everywhere else, check with the county you are moving to.
Can I just buy a Kentucky food handler card online?
You can take a course online in most counties — but it has to be the course your county names. There is no statewide Kentucky approval for a provider to hold, so a generic “Kentucky food handler card” sold by a national site is not accepted in Fayette and may not be accepted anywhere else either. Check first; a certificate from the wrong provider is money gone.
How long do I have after starting a job?
It varies more than anything else in Kentucky. Fayette requires the exam at the commencement of employment. Jessamine allows two weeks. Franklin and Woodford allow 30 days, and Franklin allows 60 for employees of a newly opened establishment.
I’m a certified food manager. Do I still need a handler card?
In Fayette and Montgomery, no — both departments state that certified food managers are exempt from the worker card. Other counties may take the same view, but confirm it locally rather than assuming.
Does Kentucky also require a food manager certification?
Yes — Kentucky adopts the 2013 FDA Food Code under 902 KAR 45:005, keeping the mandatory certified food protection manager requirement intact.
Official sources
- Lake Cumberland District Health Department — Food Certifications
- Lexington-Fayette County Health Department — Food Handler and Manager Certification
- Lexington-Fayette Urban County Board of Health Food Service Regulation (15 Sep 2021) — PDF
- Madison County Health Department — food safety
- Montgomery County Health Department — food handler testing
- Franklin County Health Department — food safety certification
- Bullitt County Health Department — food handlers
- Jessamine County Health Department — food handlers and food managers
- Woodford County Health Department — food certification
- Pike County Health Department — food safety
- Louisville Metro — Food Safety Program
- Louisville Metro Code of Ordinances § 118.02 — certified food service manager required
- 902 KAR 45:005 — Kentucky food code
- Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services — Food Safety Branch
This guide is general information, not legal advice. Your county health department is the final word.
Managing or supervising a Kentucky food establishment? See Kentucky Food Manager Certification.
Work across a state line?
Food handler rules follow the establishment’s location, not where you live. If you work in a neighbouring state, its requirements may be different:
