Jump straight to your state’s requirement ↓
Food manager certification, state by state
A food manager certification is not the same thing as a food handler card, and confusing the two is the most common mistake people make when they look this up.
- A food handler card is held by an individual worker. Where a state requires one, it usually applies to most or all staff who handle food.
- A food manager certification attaches to the establishment. Typically one person — often the designated person in charge — must hold it, and that single certified person satisfies the requirement for the whole business.
That difference matters commercially. In several states there is no worker card requirement at all, and the only certification anyone must hold is the manager’s. Looking for a handler card in those states turns up nothing, and people reasonably conclude there is no requirement — when in fact the business has one.
Do you need a food manager certification?
A certified food protection manager (CFPM) is a supervisory credential, not a worker card. In most states the obligation sits on the establishment — the business must have at least one certified manager — rather than on every employee. That single distinction resolves most of the confusion around food manager certification.
Across the 50 states the requirement falls into four patterns:
- Mandatory for most establishments — the majority of states. One certified manager per establishment, sometimes required on site during all operating hours.
- Mandatory only above a risk threshold — certification applies only to higher-risk operations. Connecticut (Class 2–4) and New Jersey (Risk Type 3) work this way.
- One of several knowledge routes — certification satisfies the requirement but is not the only way to. Maine, Kansas and Nebraska allow alternatives.
- Not required at all — a small group including Montana, North Dakota, Wyoming and Vermont, which never adopted or actively removed the mandate.
What food manager certification costs
Expect $90–$180 for an accredited exam, valid five years in most states. That covers the proctored ANAB-CFP exam and, usually, a preparation course. The exam is substantially harder than a food handler course: around 80 questions across six food safety domains, with a proctor requirement that a worker-level card does not have.
This is the main practical difference from a food handler card, which typically costs $7–$20 and involves a short online course with no proctored exam.
Does a food manager certification transfer between states?
More reliably than a food handler card does. Because most states accept the same ANAB-CFP accredited exams — ServSafe, NRFSP, Prometric, 360training — a certification earned in one state is commonly recognised in another. That is acceptance rather than formal reciprocity: the receiving state still decides, and a few states add their own registration step on top of the national exam.
The detail that catches people out is validity, not portability. Most states run five years, but some are shorter, and your certificate’s printed expiry date is not always your state’s deadline. Check the state guide below rather than assuming.
Why the rules differ so much between states
There is no federal food safety certification requirement. The FDA publishes the Food Code, which it describes as its “best advice for a system of provisions that address the safety and protection of food offered at retail and in food service” — but it is a model, not law. Each state decides whether to adopt it, which edition to adopt, and what to change on the way.
The result is that three things vary state by state, and all three matter:
- Whether a certified manager is required at all, and whether that person must be the person in charge, or merely employed by the business.
- Which courses and exams count. Some states accept any nationally accredited exam. Others name an approved list. Some benchmark against a specific course and leave anything else to the regulator’s discretion.
- How long the certification lasts. This is the one that catches people out — see below.
⚠️ Your certificate’s expiry date may not be your state’s deadline
Nationally recognised manager certifications are commonly issued with a five-year validity. Some states require renewal sooner, and the state’s interval is the one that governs.
South Dakota is the clearest example: its rules state that “a food service manager must be recertified every four years”. A manager holding a five-year certificate and working to the date printed on it would be out of compliance in South Dakota for its final year, while holding a certificate that looks perfectly valid.
Check your state’s interval, not your card’s.
What the exam involves
Every state that mandates a certified food protection manager accepts exams accredited by the ANSI National Accreditation Board (ANAB) under the Conference for Food Protection (CFP) standard. A handful of states (Ohio and Rhode Island are the main examples) additionally require that the specific provider appear on a state-maintained approved list — but for the vast majority of states, any ANAB-CFP accredited exam qualifies.
The exam itself is standardised across providers:
- Format: 80–90 multiple-choice questions
- Duration: approximately 2 hours
- Passing score: typically 75% (exact threshold varies by provider)
- Proctoring: in-person at a test centre, or remote-proctored from home
- Validity: 5 years nationally; some states set a shorter interval (see South Dakota’s 4-year rule in the table)
Topic coverage follows the FDA Food Code: foodborne illness causes and prevention, personal hygiene, time and temperature control, cross-contamination, cleaning and sanitising, and regulatory compliance. Training courses from most providers take 4–8 hours to complete.
Nationally recognised exam providers
| Provider | Exam name | ANAB-CFP accredited? |
|---|---|---|
| National Restaurant Association | ServSafe Food Manager | Yes |
| National Registry of Food Safety Professionals | NRFSP | Yes |
| 360training / Learn2Serve | Food Protection Manager | Yes |
| StateFoodSafety | Food Protection Manager Certification | Yes |
| Trust20 | Certified Food Protection Manager | Yes |
Exam-only pricing typically starts around $35–50; training-plus-exam bundles range from $90 to $150 depending on the provider and package. All providers issue a certificate immediately on passing.
State-by-state requirements
We are building this section out one state at a time. Each state page is researched against that state’s own statutes and administrative rules, and every quoted requirement is checked against the official source before it is published — so this table grows slowly and deliberately rather than all at once.
| State | Certified manager required? | Recertification | Details |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama Food Manager Certification | Yes — Priority Category 3/4 establishments only | Set by provider/program | Alabama food manager certification |
| Alaska Food Manager Certification | Yes — up to 5 satellite/catered locations per manager | Set by provider/program | Alaska food manager certification |
| Arizona Food Manager Certification | Yes — mandatory, not optional | Not specified by rule | Arizona food manager certification |
| Arkansas Food Manager Certification | Yes — at least one certified manager per establishment | Set by provider/program | Arkansas food manager certification |
| California Food Manager Certification | Yes — one certified owner or employee per facility, not shareable | Every 5 years | California food manager certification |
| Colorado Food Manager Certification | Yes — per the 2022 FDA Food Code as adopted | Not specified by rule | Colorado food manager certification |
| Connecticut Food Manager Certification | Yes — Class 2/3/4, one manager per establishment | Set by provider/program | Connecticut food manager certification |
| Delaware Food Manager Certification | Yes — the person in charge (2022 Food Code, adopted Oct 2025) | Not specified by rule | Delaware food manager certification |
| Florida Food Manager Certification | Yes — at least one per licensed establishment | Every 5 years | Florida food manager certification |
| Georgia Food Manager Certification | Yes — one CFSM per establishment, no sharing | 90-day renewal grace period after expiration | Georgia food manager certification |
| Hawaii Food Manager Certification | Yes — the person in charge, present during all operating hours | Every 3 years | Hawaii food manager certification |
| Idaho Food Manager Certification | No — CFPM is one of three optional routes, not mandatory | N/A | Idaho food manager certification |
| Illinois Food Manager Certification | Yes — every food service establishment | Every 5 years | Illinois food manager certification |
| Indiana Food Manager Certification | Yes — at least one certified food handler per establishment, CFP-recognized exam | Set by provider/program | Indiana food manager certification |
| Iowa Food Manager Certification | Yes — conditions apply if not present at all hours | 6 months to comply (new/violation) | Iowa food manager certification |
| Kansas Food Manager Certification | No — certification is optional; a correct inspector interview also satisfies the rule | N/A | Kansas food manager certification |
| Kentucky Food Manager Certification | Yes — employee with supervisory/management authority | Not specified by rule (2013 FDA Food Code) | Kentucky food manager certification |
| Louisiana Food Manager Certification | Yes — a state-issued certificate, department-approved programs | Every 5 years | Louisiana food manager certification |
| Maine Food Manager Certification | No — required only after violations/outbreak | N/A | Maine food manager certification |
| Maryland Food Manager Certification | No — county option | Varies by county | Maryland food manager certification |
| Massachusetts Food Manager Certification | Yes — on-site manager/supervisor, 18+ | Not specified by rule | Massachusetts food manager certification |
| Michigan Food Manager Certification | Yes — for covered establishments (MCL 289.2129) | Not specified by rule | Michigan food manager certification |
| Minnesota Food Manager Certification | Yes — one CFPM per establishment, state application required | 4 CE hours to renew (interval not stated here) | Minnesota food manager certification |
| Mississippi Food Manager Certification | Yes — permit holder or designee | Not specified by rule | Mississippi food manager certification |
| Missouri Food Manager Certification | No — local option | Varies by locality | Missouri food manager certification |
| Montana Food Manager Certification | No — no certified-manager provision in the code | N/A | Montana food manager certification |
| Nebraska Food Manager Certification | No — one of three demonstration routes | N/A | Nebraska food manager certification |
| Nevada Food Manager Certification | Yes — effectively required outside low-risk establishments | Not specified by rule (Clark/Washoe counties may differ) | Nevada food manager certification |
| New Hampshire Food Manager Certification | Yes — the person in charge, present during food preparation | Not specified by rule | New Hampshire food manager certification |
| New Jersey Food Manager Certification | Partial — required only for Risk Type 3 establishments | Set by certifying program | New Jersey food manager certification |
| New Mexico Food Manager Certification | Yes — employee with supervisory/management authority | Not specified by rule | New Mexico food manager certification |
| New York Food Manager Certification | No — local option | Varies by county / NYC | New York food manager certification |
| North Carolina Food Manager Certification | Yes — unmodified 2017 FDA Food Code mandate | Set by provider/program | North Carolina food manager certification |
| North Dakota Food Manager Certification | No — mandate paragraph expressly excluded from adoption | N/A | North Dakota food manager certification |
| Ohio Food Manager Certification | Yes — risk level III/IV establishments, state-approved courses (not open ANAB accreditation) | Does not expire | Ohio food manager certification |
| Oklahoma Food Manager Certification | No — Oklahoma’s rule says “may,” not “shall” | N/A | Oklahoma food manager certification |
| Oregon Food Manager Certification | No — see the page for scope of the search | N/A | Oregon food manager certification |
| Pennsylvania Food Manager Certification | Yes — present or immediately accessible at all hours | Set by provider/program | Pennsylvania food manager certification |
| Rhode Island Food Manager Certification | Yes — Center-approved courses, not open accreditation | Set by provider/program (confirm with RIDOH) | Rhode Island food manager certification |
| South Carolina Food Manager Certification | No — one of three demonstration routes | N/A | South Carolina food manager certification |
| South Dakota Food Manager Certification | Yes — at least one person in charge per establishment | Every 4 years | South Dakota food manager certification |
| Tennessee Food Manager Certification | No — no certified-manager provision in the code | N/A | Tennessee food manager certification |
| Texas Food Manager Certification | Yes — must be present during all hours of operation | Every 5 years | Texas food manager certification |
| Utah Food Manager Certification | Yes — statewide, FDA Food Code adoption | Every 3 years | Utah food manager certification |
| Vermont Food Manager Certification | No — certification is one of three ways to comply | N/A | Vermont food manager certification |
| Virginia Food Manager Certification | Yes — one supervisory employee per establishment | Not specified by rule | Virginia food manager certification |
| Washington Food Manager Certification | Yes — at least one on staff per establishment | Not specified by rule | Washington food manager certification |
| West Virginia Food Manager Certification | Yes — at least one certified manager, narrow exemptions | Set by provider/program | West Virginia food manager certification |
| Wisconsin Food Manager Certification | Yes — operator or at least one manager per establishment | Every 5 years | Wisconsin food manager certification |
| Wyoming Food Manager Certification | No — explicitly voluntary statewide; some localities may require it | N/A | Wyoming food manager certification |
More states are being added. If your state is not listed yet, do not read that as “no requirement” — it means we have not finished verifying it, and we would rather publish nothing than publish something we have not checked.
Looking for a food handler card instead?
If you are an individual worker being hired to handle food, the food handler card is probably what you need. See food handler card requirements by state for all 50 states.
State-by-state requirements at a glance
The table below summarises the certified food manager requirement in each state — whether it is mandatory, whether the certified person must be on site, how long the certificate lasts, and whether the state accepts any ANAB-CFP accredited exam or maintains its own approved list.
| State | Required? | On-site required? | Validity | Exam standard |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Yes | Not specified | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Alaska | Yes | During food prep hours | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Arizona | Yes | On duty when open | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Arkansas | Yes — one per facility | On site or immediately accessible | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| California | Yes — one per facility | Not required to be present | 5 years | ANSI-accredited |
| Colorado | Yes | On site when open | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Connecticut | Yes | Present or accessible | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Delaware | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Florida | Yes — one per facility | On site when open | 5 years | State-approved list |
| Georgia | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Hawaii | Yes — one per facility | Present at all times | 3 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Idaho | Yes | Present or accessible | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Illinois | Yes | On site | 5 years | ANAB-CFP or state list |
| Indiana | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Iowa | Yes | Not specified | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Kansas | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Kentucky | Yes | On site | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Louisiana | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Maine | Yes | Present or accessible | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Maryland | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Massachusetts | Yes | On site | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Michigan | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Minnesota | Yes | On site | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Mississippi | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Missouri | Yes | On site | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Montana | Yes | Present or immediately accessible | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Nebraska | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Nevada | Yes — one per facility | On site when open | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| New Hampshire | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| New Jersey | Yes | On site | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| New Mexico | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| New York | Yes | On site | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| North Carolina | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| North Dakota | No — explicitly excluded from food code | N/A | 5 years (voluntary) | ANAB-CFP (voluntary) |
| Ohio | Yes | On duty | 5 years | State-approved list |
| Oklahoma | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Oregon | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Pennsylvania | Yes — Food Employee Certification Act | Present or immediately accessible | 5 years | ANAB-CFP / PDA list |
| Rhode Island | Yes | On duty | 5 years | State-approved list |
| South Carolina | One of three options — not mandatory | N/A | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| South Dakota | Yes — person in charge must be certified | Person in charge each shift | 4 years | State-approved list |
| Tennessee | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Texas | Yes — one per facility | On site when open | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Utah | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Vermont | Yes | Present at all times | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Virginia | One of three options — not mandatory | N/A | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Washington | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| West Virginia | Yes | On duty | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Wisconsin | Yes — one per restaurant | Present during food service | 5 years | ANAB-CFP |
| Wyoming | No — voluntary statewide; Teton County mandatory Oct 2026 | N/A | 5 years (voluntary) | ANAB-CFP (voluntary) |
The exam — what it covers and what it costs
Every state that mandates a certified food manager accepts exams accredited by the ANAB under the Conference for Food Protection standard. The exam is standardised across all providers:
- Format: 80 questions, multiple choice
- Time limit: 2 hours
- Passing score: 75%
- Closed-book, proctored — in-person at a testing centre or remotely via webcam
Six core domains are tested regardless of which provider you use:
- Employee health and hygiene — illness exclusion, handwashing, bare-hand contact
- Temperature control — cooking temps, cooling parameters, hot/cold holding
- Cross-contamination prevention — storage order, allergen management, sanitation
- Cleaning and sanitizing — chemical concentrations, contact times, ware-washing
- Pest control and facilities — exclusion, materials, plumbing basics
- HACCP principles — hazard analysis, critical control points, record-keeping
Provider comparison
| Provider | Exam only | Course + exam | Remote proctoring | Retake policy |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ServSafe (NRA) | ~$36 | ~$150–$180 | Yes | Separate fee per attempt |
| StateFoodSafety | ~$69 | ~$99 | Yes | Free retake with some packages |
| Prometric (NRFSP) | ~$99 | ~$149 | Yes | Separate fee per attempt |
| Learn2Serve (360training) | ~$59 | ~$99 | Yes | Free retake included |
| Always Food Safe | ~$55 | ~$95 | Yes | Varies by package |
A few states (Ohio, Rhode Island, Florida) require the provider to appear on a state-maintained approved list in addition to the ANAB-CFP accreditation. All five providers above appear on most state lists. Confirm your state’s approved list before enrolling if you are in a list-restricted state.
Food protection manager certification practice exam: what to use
No single free practice exam covers everything, but these are the most used resources:
- ServSafe diagnostic test — ServSafe offers a free online diagnostic at servsafe.com. It mirrors the real exam format (80 questions, 2-hour limit) and shows which of the six domains you’re weakest in before you spend money on the real exam.
- StateFoodSafety sample questions — StateFoodSafety includes practice questions as part of their paid course bundle. Their course + exam package typically runs $69–$99 and includes a free retake on some packages.
- Learn2Serve (360training) — Learn2Serve’s food protection manager course includes practice exams within the course material. Exam-only pricing starts around $59.
- The ServSafe Manager Book — The official textbook (around $50–$70) includes chapter review questions and a practice exam. Most people find the online study materials sufficient without it.
What the exam actually covers: All accredited food protection manager exams (ServSafe, NRFSP, Learn2Serve, StateFoodSafety) test the same six domains defined by ANAB-CFP: personal hygiene, cross-contamination and allergens, time-temperature control, cleaning and sanitizing, food safety management systems (HACCP), and receiving/storage. A practice exam from any accredited provider prepares you for any other accredited exam.
How long is ServSafe certification good for?
The ServSafe Food Manager certification is valid for 5 years from the date you pass the exam. This matches the standard for all ANAB-CFP accredited programs — StateFoodSafety, Prometric/NRFSP, and Learn2Serve all issue 5-year certificates under the same accreditation standard.
A few things to watch:
- The certificate expiry ≠ your state’s renewal deadline. Some states require renewal every 3 years even though the certificate itself is valid for 5. Check your state’s rule, not just the certificate date.
- ServSafe renewal vs. retesting: ServSafe does not offer a “renewal” in the traditional sense — you retake the full exam when your certificate expires. There is no shorter recertification course.
- Certificate lookup: You can verify a ServSafe certification at servsafe.com/certifications/find-a-certificate. Enter the certificate holder’s name or certificate number.
Frequently asked questions
Is a food manager certification the same in every state?
The exam is standardised — same domains, same format, same accreditation body. What varies is whether the state mandates it, whether the certified person must be physically present, how long it lasts, and whether the state restricts which providers qualify. Two states (North Dakota, Wyoming) have explicitly made it voluntary. Two states (Hawaii, South Dakota) require renewal on a shorter cycle than the 5-year norm.
If I get certified in one state, is it valid in others?
Yes — ANAB-CFP accreditation is a national standard. A certificate from any accredited provider is valid in any state that accepts the standard, which is most. Check the receiving state’s renewal interval; your certificate may be valid in one state but already past that state’s deadline.
Does the certified manager need to be on site at all times?
It depends on the state. Most states require the certified manager to be “on duty” or “on site when open.” California explicitly does not require presence — the certificate must exist at the facility, not the holder be standing in it. Pennsylvania requires the manager to be present or “immediately accessible.” Vermont and Hawaii require presence at all times. Read your state’s specific rule.
What is the difference between a food handler card and a food manager certification?
A food handler card is an individual worker requirement — typically $10–$20, a short online course, no proctored exam. A food manager certification is a management-level credential — $90–$180, a rigorous proctored exam covering six food safety domains. The food manager certification attaches to the establishment (one per facility); the food handler card attaches to each worker.
What happens when the certified manager leaves?
Most states expect a replacement to be certified within a set period — 90 days is common. Pennsylvania and California have no explicit grace period in their statutes. During any gap, the establishment is technically out of compliance. Inspectors treat the gap differently by state; some issue immediate violations, others note it without a citation on the first inspection.
