Jump straight to your state’s requirement ↓

Food manager certification, state by state

A food manager certification is not the same thing as a food handler card, and confusing the two is the most common mistake people make when they look this up.

  • A food handler card is held by an individual worker. Where a state requires one, it usually applies to most or all staff who handle food.
  • A food manager certification attaches to the establishment. Typically one person — often the designated person in charge — must hold it, and that single certified person satisfies the requirement for the whole business.

That difference matters commercially. In several states there is no worker card requirement at all, and the only certification anyone must hold is the manager’s. Looking for a handler card in those states turns up nothing, and people reasonably conclude there is no requirement — when in fact the business has one.

Do you need a food manager certification?

A certified food protection manager (CFPM) is a supervisory credential, not a worker card. In most states the obligation sits on the establishment — the business must have at least one certified manager — rather than on every employee. That single distinction resolves most of the confusion around food manager certification.

Across the 50 states the requirement falls into four patterns:

  • Mandatory for most establishments — the majority of states. One certified manager per establishment, sometimes required on site during all operating hours.
  • Mandatory only above a risk threshold — certification applies only to higher-risk operations. Connecticut (Class 2–4) and New Jersey (Risk Type 3) work this way.
  • One of several knowledge routes — certification satisfies the requirement but is not the only way to. Maine, Kansas and Nebraska allow alternatives.
  • Not required at all — a small group including Montana, North Dakota, Wyoming and Vermont, which never adopted or actively removed the mandate.

What food manager certification costs

Expect $90–$180 for an accredited exam, valid five years in most states. That covers the proctored ANAB-CFP exam and, usually, a preparation course. The exam is substantially harder than a food handler course: around 80 questions across six food safety domains, with a proctor requirement that a worker-level card does not have.

This is the main practical difference from a food handler card, which typically costs $7–$20 and involves a short online course with no proctored exam.

Does a food manager certification transfer between states?

More reliably than a food handler card does. Because most states accept the same ANAB-CFP accredited exams — ServSafe, NRFSP, Prometric, 360training — a certification earned in one state is commonly recognised in another. That is acceptance rather than formal reciprocity: the receiving state still decides, and a few states add their own registration step on top of the national exam.

The detail that catches people out is validity, not portability. Most states run five years, but some are shorter, and your certificate’s printed expiry date is not always your state’s deadline. Check the state guide below rather than assuming.

Why the rules differ so much between states

There is no federal food safety certification requirement. The FDA publishes the Food Code, which it describes as its “best advice for a system of provisions that address the safety and protection of food offered at retail and in food service” — but it is a model, not law. Each state decides whether to adopt it, which edition to adopt, and what to change on the way.

The result is that three things vary state by state, and all three matter:

  1. Whether a certified manager is required at all, and whether that person must be the person in charge, or merely employed by the business.
  2. Which courses and exams count. Some states accept any nationally accredited exam. Others name an approved list. Some benchmark against a specific course and leave anything else to the regulator’s discretion.
  3. How long the certification lasts. This is the one that catches people out — see below.

⚠️ Your certificate’s expiry date may not be your state’s deadline

Nationally recognised manager certifications are commonly issued with a five-year validity. Some states require renewal sooner, and the state’s interval is the one that governs.

South Dakota is the clearest example: its rules state that “a food service manager must be recertified every four years”. A manager holding a five-year certificate and working to the date printed on it would be out of compliance in South Dakota for its final year, while holding a certificate that looks perfectly valid.

Check your state’s interval, not your card’s.

What the exam involves

Every state that mandates a certified food protection manager accepts exams accredited by the ANSI National Accreditation Board (ANAB) under the Conference for Food Protection (CFP) standard. A handful of states (Ohio and Rhode Island are the main examples) additionally require that the specific provider appear on a state-maintained approved list — but for the vast majority of states, any ANAB-CFP accredited exam qualifies.

The exam itself is standardised across providers:

  • Format: 80–90 multiple-choice questions
  • Duration: approximately 2 hours
  • Passing score: typically 75% (exact threshold varies by provider)
  • Proctoring: in-person at a test centre, or remote-proctored from home
  • Validity: 5 years nationally; some states set a shorter interval (see South Dakota’s 4-year rule in the table)

Topic coverage follows the FDA Food Code: foodborne illness causes and prevention, personal hygiene, time and temperature control, cross-contamination, cleaning and sanitising, and regulatory compliance. Training courses from most providers take 4–8 hours to complete.

Nationally recognised exam providers

Provider Exam name ANAB-CFP accredited?
National Restaurant Association ServSafe Food Manager Yes
National Registry of Food Safety Professionals NRFSP Yes
360training / Learn2Serve Food Protection Manager Yes
StateFoodSafety Food Protection Manager Certification Yes
Trust20 Certified Food Protection Manager Yes

Exam-only pricing typically starts around $35–50; training-plus-exam bundles range from $90 to $150 depending on the provider and package. All providers issue a certificate immediately on passing.

State-by-state requirements

We are building this section out one state at a time. Each state page is researched against that state’s own statutes and administrative rules, and every quoted requirement is checked against the official source before it is published — so this table grows slowly and deliberately rather than all at once.

State Certified manager required? Recertification Details
Alabama Food Manager Certification Yes — Priority Category 3/4 establishments only Set by provider/program Alabama food manager certification
Alaska Food Manager Certification Yes — up to 5 satellite/catered locations per manager Set by provider/program Alaska food manager certification
Arizona Food Manager Certification Yes — mandatory, not optional Not specified by rule Arizona food manager certification
Arkansas Food Manager Certification Yes — at least one certified manager per establishment Set by provider/program Arkansas food manager certification
California Food Manager Certification Yes — one certified owner or employee per facility, not shareable Every 5 years California food manager certification
Colorado Food Manager Certification Yes — per the 2022 FDA Food Code as adopted Not specified by rule Colorado food manager certification
Connecticut Food Manager Certification Yes — Class 2/3/4, one manager per establishment Set by provider/program Connecticut food manager certification
Delaware Food Manager Certification Yes — the person in charge (2022 Food Code, adopted Oct 2025) Not specified by rule Delaware food manager certification
Florida Food Manager Certification Yes — at least one per licensed establishment Every 5 years Florida food manager certification
Georgia Food Manager Certification Yes — one CFSM per establishment, no sharing 90-day renewal grace period after expiration Georgia food manager certification
Hawaii Food Manager Certification Yes — the person in charge, present during all operating hours Every 3 years Hawaii food manager certification
Idaho Food Manager Certification No — CFPM is one of three optional routes, not mandatory N/A Idaho food manager certification
Illinois Food Manager Certification Yes — every food service establishment Every 5 years Illinois food manager certification
Indiana Food Manager Certification Yes — at least one certified food handler per establishment, CFP-recognized exam Set by provider/program Indiana food manager certification
Iowa Food Manager Certification Yes — conditions apply if not present at all hours 6 months to comply (new/violation) Iowa food manager certification
Kansas Food Manager Certification No — certification is optional; a correct inspector interview also satisfies the rule N/A Kansas food manager certification
Kentucky Food Manager Certification Yes — employee with supervisory/management authority Not specified by rule (2013 FDA Food Code) Kentucky food manager certification
Louisiana Food Manager Certification Yes — a state-issued certificate, department-approved programs Every 5 years Louisiana food manager certification
Maine Food Manager Certification No — required only after violations/outbreak N/A Maine food manager certification
Maryland Food Manager Certification No — county option Varies by county Maryland food manager certification
Massachusetts Food Manager Certification Yes — on-site manager/supervisor, 18+ Not specified by rule Massachusetts food manager certification
Michigan Food Manager Certification Yes — for covered establishments (MCL 289.2129) Not specified by rule Michigan food manager certification
Minnesota Food Manager Certification Yes — one CFPM per establishment, state application required 4 CE hours to renew (interval not stated here) Minnesota food manager certification
Mississippi Food Manager Certification Yes — permit holder or designee Not specified by rule Mississippi food manager certification
Missouri Food Manager Certification No — local option Varies by locality Missouri food manager certification
Montana Food Manager Certification No — no certified-manager provision in the code N/A Montana food manager certification
Nebraska Food Manager Certification No — one of three demonstration routes N/A Nebraska food manager certification
Nevada Food Manager Certification Yes — effectively required outside low-risk establishments Not specified by rule (Clark/Washoe counties may differ) Nevada food manager certification
New Hampshire Food Manager Certification Yes — the person in charge, present during food preparation Not specified by rule New Hampshire food manager certification
New Jersey Food Manager Certification Partial — required only for Risk Type 3 establishments Set by certifying program New Jersey food manager certification
New Mexico Food Manager Certification Yes — employee with supervisory/management authority Not specified by rule New Mexico food manager certification
New York Food Manager Certification No — local option Varies by county / NYC New York food manager certification
North Carolina Food Manager Certification Yes — unmodified 2017 FDA Food Code mandate Set by provider/program North Carolina food manager certification
North Dakota Food Manager Certification No — mandate paragraph expressly excluded from adoption N/A North Dakota food manager certification
Ohio Food Manager Certification Yes — risk level III/IV establishments, state-approved courses (not open ANAB accreditation) Does not expire Ohio food manager certification
Oklahoma Food Manager Certification No — Oklahoma’s rule says “may,” not “shall” N/A Oklahoma food manager certification
Oregon Food Manager Certification No — see the page for scope of the search N/A Oregon food manager certification
Pennsylvania Food Manager Certification Yes — present or immediately accessible at all hours Set by provider/program Pennsylvania food manager certification
Rhode Island Food Manager Certification Yes — Center-approved courses, not open accreditation Set by provider/program (confirm with RIDOH) Rhode Island food manager certification
South Carolina Food Manager Certification No — one of three demonstration routes N/A South Carolina food manager certification
South Dakota Food Manager Certification Yes — at least one person in charge per establishment Every 4 years South Dakota food manager certification
Tennessee Food Manager Certification No — no certified-manager provision in the code N/A Tennessee food manager certification
Texas Food Manager Certification Yes — must be present during all hours of operation Every 5 years Texas food manager certification
Utah Food Manager Certification Yes — statewide, FDA Food Code adoption Every 3 years Utah food manager certification
Vermont Food Manager Certification No — certification is one of three ways to comply N/A Vermont food manager certification
Virginia Food Manager Certification Yes — one supervisory employee per establishment Not specified by rule Virginia food manager certification
Washington Food Manager Certification Yes — at least one on staff per establishment Not specified by rule Washington food manager certification
West Virginia Food Manager Certification Yes — at least one certified manager, narrow exemptions Set by provider/program West Virginia food manager certification
Wisconsin Food Manager Certification Yes — operator or at least one manager per establishment Every 5 years Wisconsin food manager certification
Wyoming Food Manager Certification No — explicitly voluntary statewide; some localities may require it N/A Wyoming food manager certification

More states are being added. If your state is not listed yet, do not read that as “no requirement” — it means we have not finished verifying it, and we would rather publish nothing than publish something we have not checked.

Looking for a food handler card instead?

If you are an individual worker being hired to handle food, the food handler card is probably what you need. See food handler card requirements by state for all 50 states.

State-by-state requirements at a glance

The table below summarises the certified food manager requirement in each state — whether it is mandatory, whether the certified person must be on site, how long the certificate lasts, and whether the state accepts any ANAB-CFP accredited exam or maintains its own approved list.

State Required? On-site required? Validity Exam standard
Alabama Yes Not specified 5 years ANAB-CFP
Alaska Yes During food prep hours 5 years ANAB-CFP
Arizona Yes On duty when open 5 years ANAB-CFP
Arkansas Yes — one per facility On site or immediately accessible 5 years ANAB-CFP
California Yes — one per facility Not required to be present 5 years ANSI-accredited
Colorado Yes On site when open 5 years ANAB-CFP
Connecticut Yes Present or accessible 5 years ANAB-CFP
Delaware Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Florida Yes — one per facility On site when open 5 years State-approved list
Georgia Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Hawaii Yes — one per facility Present at all times 3 years ANAB-CFP
Idaho Yes Present or accessible 5 years ANAB-CFP
Illinois Yes On site 5 years ANAB-CFP or state list
Indiana Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Iowa Yes Not specified 5 years ANAB-CFP
Kansas Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Kentucky Yes On site 5 years ANAB-CFP
Louisiana Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Maine Yes Present or accessible 5 years ANAB-CFP
Maryland Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Massachusetts Yes On site 5 years ANAB-CFP
Michigan Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Minnesota Yes On site 5 years ANAB-CFP
Mississippi Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Missouri Yes On site 5 years ANAB-CFP
Montana Yes Present or immediately accessible 5 years ANAB-CFP
Nebraska Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Nevada Yes — one per facility On site when open 5 years ANAB-CFP
New Hampshire Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
New Jersey Yes On site 5 years ANAB-CFP
New Mexico Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
New York Yes On site 5 years ANAB-CFP
North Carolina Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
North Dakota No — explicitly excluded from food code N/A 5 years (voluntary) ANAB-CFP (voluntary)
Ohio Yes On duty 5 years State-approved list
Oklahoma Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Oregon Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Pennsylvania Yes — Food Employee Certification Act Present or immediately accessible 5 years ANAB-CFP / PDA list
Rhode Island Yes On duty 5 years State-approved list
South Carolina One of three options — not mandatory N/A 5 years ANAB-CFP
South Dakota Yes — person in charge must be certified Person in charge each shift 4 years State-approved list
Tennessee Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Texas Yes — one per facility On site when open 5 years ANAB-CFP
Utah Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Vermont Yes Present at all times 5 years ANAB-CFP
Virginia One of three options — not mandatory N/A 5 years ANAB-CFP
Washington Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
West Virginia Yes On duty 5 years ANAB-CFP
Wisconsin Yes — one per restaurant Present during food service 5 years ANAB-CFP
Wyoming No — voluntary statewide; Teton County mandatory Oct 2026 N/A 5 years (voluntary) ANAB-CFP (voluntary)

The exam — what it covers and what it costs

Every state that mandates a certified food manager accepts exams accredited by the ANAB under the Conference for Food Protection standard. The exam is standardised across all providers:

  • Format: 80 questions, multiple choice
  • Time limit: 2 hours
  • Passing score: 75%
  • Closed-book, proctored — in-person at a testing centre or remotely via webcam

Six core domains are tested regardless of which provider you use:

  • Employee health and hygiene — illness exclusion, handwashing, bare-hand contact
  • Temperature control — cooking temps, cooling parameters, hot/cold holding
  • Cross-contamination prevention — storage order, allergen management, sanitation
  • Cleaning and sanitizing — chemical concentrations, contact times, ware-washing
  • Pest control and facilities — exclusion, materials, plumbing basics
  • HACCP principles — hazard analysis, critical control points, record-keeping

Provider comparison

Provider Exam only Course + exam Remote proctoring Retake policy
ServSafe (NRA) ~$36 ~$150–$180 Yes Separate fee per attempt
StateFoodSafety ~$69 ~$99 Yes Free retake with some packages
Prometric (NRFSP) ~$99 ~$149 Yes Separate fee per attempt
Learn2Serve (360training) ~$59 ~$99 Yes Free retake included
Always Food Safe ~$55 ~$95 Yes Varies by package

A few states (Ohio, Rhode Island, Florida) require the provider to appear on a state-maintained approved list in addition to the ANAB-CFP accreditation. All five providers above appear on most state lists. Confirm your state’s approved list before enrolling if you are in a list-restricted state.

Food protection manager certification practice exam: what to use

No single free practice exam covers everything, but these are the most used resources:

  • ServSafe diagnostic test — ServSafe offers a free online diagnostic at servsafe.com. It mirrors the real exam format (80 questions, 2-hour limit) and shows which of the six domains you’re weakest in before you spend money on the real exam.
  • StateFoodSafety sample questions — StateFoodSafety includes practice questions as part of their paid course bundle. Their course + exam package typically runs $69–$99 and includes a free retake on some packages.
  • Learn2Serve (360training) — Learn2Serve’s food protection manager course includes practice exams within the course material. Exam-only pricing starts around $59.
  • The ServSafe Manager Book — The official textbook (around $50–$70) includes chapter review questions and a practice exam. Most people find the online study materials sufficient without it.

What the exam actually covers: All accredited food protection manager exams (ServSafe, NRFSP, Learn2Serve, StateFoodSafety) test the same six domains defined by ANAB-CFP: personal hygiene, cross-contamination and allergens, time-temperature control, cleaning and sanitizing, food safety management systems (HACCP), and receiving/storage. A practice exam from any accredited provider prepares you for any other accredited exam.

How long is ServSafe certification good for?

The ServSafe Food Manager certification is valid for 5 years from the date you pass the exam. This matches the standard for all ANAB-CFP accredited programs — StateFoodSafety, Prometric/NRFSP, and Learn2Serve all issue 5-year certificates under the same accreditation standard.

A few things to watch:

  • The certificate expiry ≠ your state’s renewal deadline. Some states require renewal every 3 years even though the certificate itself is valid for 5. Check your state’s rule, not just the certificate date.
  • ServSafe renewal vs. retesting: ServSafe does not offer a “renewal” in the traditional sense — you retake the full exam when your certificate expires. There is no shorter recertification course.
  • Certificate lookup: You can verify a ServSafe certification at servsafe.com/certifications/find-a-certificate. Enter the certificate holder’s name or certificate number.

Frequently asked questions

Is a food manager certification the same in every state?
The exam is standardised — same domains, same format, same accreditation body. What varies is whether the state mandates it, whether the certified person must be physically present, how long it lasts, and whether the state restricts which providers qualify. Two states (North Dakota, Wyoming) have explicitly made it voluntary. Two states (Hawaii, South Dakota) require renewal on a shorter cycle than the 5-year norm.

If I get certified in one state, is it valid in others?
Yes — ANAB-CFP accreditation is a national standard. A certificate from any accredited provider is valid in any state that accepts the standard, which is most. Check the receiving state’s renewal interval; your certificate may be valid in one state but already past that state’s deadline.

Does the certified manager need to be on site at all times?
It depends on the state. Most states require the certified manager to be “on duty” or “on site when open.” California explicitly does not require presence — the certificate must exist at the facility, not the holder be standing in it. Pennsylvania requires the manager to be present or “immediately accessible.” Vermont and Hawaii require presence at all times. Read your state’s specific rule.

What is the difference between a food handler card and a food manager certification?
A food handler card is an individual worker requirement — typically $10–$20, a short online course, no proctored exam. A food manager certification is a management-level credential — $90–$180, a rigorous proctored exam covering six food safety domains. The food manager certification attaches to the establishment (one per facility); the food handler card attaches to each worker.

What happens when the certified manager leaves?
Most states expect a replacement to be certified within a set period — 90 days is common. Pennsylvania and California have no explicit grace period in their statutes. During any gap, the establishment is technically out of compliance. Inspectors treat the gap differently by state; some issue immediate violations, others note it without a citation on the first inspection.